City Council

Friday 19 May 2023

PRESENT:

Councillor Sue Dann, in the Chair.

Councillor Chris Penberthy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Bingley, Blight, Briars-Delve, Carlyle, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Finn, Gilmour, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Hulme, Laing, Lowry, Lugger, Dr Mahony, McDonald, McLay, Moore, Murphy, Nicholson, Noble, Partridge, Patel, Penrose, Poyser, Reilly, Rennie, Ricketts, Salmon, Shayer, Smith, Sproston, Stephens, Stevens, Stoneman, Tippetts, Tofan, Tuffin, Tuohy, Wakeham and Ms Watkin.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Mrs Bridgeman, Mrs Loveridge and Mrs Pengelly.

The meeting started at 10.30 am and finished at 10.43 am.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at www.plymouth.gov.uk. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

84. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

85. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Councillor Evans OBE introduced the nomination of Mr Brian Vincent to receive the title of Honorary Alderman status post humorously. The motion was seconded by Councillor Mary Aspinall.

Council <u>agreed</u> unanimously that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers on Mr Brian Vincent, the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of him eminent services to the Council of the said City during the period when they were a Member of the Council.

The Lord Mayor On behalf of Council offered her congratulations to Councillor Pauline Murphy, who accepted the medal and scroll on behalf of Mr Brian Vincent.

